EFCC Arrests 39 Suspected Internet Fraudsters In Ibadan

Operatives of the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Wednesday, arrested 39 cyber fraudsters in Oyo State capital.

According to the nation’s anti-graft agency, the majority of the suspects arrested are reportedly students of the tertiary institutions in the state.

It also revealed that the alleged cyber swindlers were apprehended at the Polytechnic Ibadan’s neighbourhood, Apete.

The EFCC, through its media and publicity department, Friday, disclosed this in a statement on its website.

It also revealed that five posh cars, laptops and mobile phones are among valuable items retrieved from the suspects, adding that they will be arraigned in court upon the conclusion of investigations.

The EFCC also said it found incriminating documents and messages of their fraudulent bank transactions on from 34 of the suspects, following analyses on their devices.

The statement read, “Operatives of the Ibadan Zonal Command of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, on Wednesday, June 1, 2022, arrested thirty-nine (39) suspected internet fraudsters in a sting operation in Ibadan, Oyo State.

“The suspects who claimed to be undergraduates of different tertiary institutions in Ibadan were arrested at Apete area of the Oyo State capital, following useful intelligence on their cyber-fraudulent activities.

“However, following analyses carried out on their devices, incriminating documents, and messages of their fraudulent bank transactions were recovered from thirty-four (34) of the suspects.

“They are Okeowo Abiodun Akeem, Yekini Ismail Omokayode, Odediran Abdulfatahi Dolapo, Isiaka Olumide Hammed, Obioma Honour Umaduabuchi, Olorunsola Eniola Johnson, Olabiyi Ifeoluwa Joseph, Razaq Adams Lekan, Oladimeji Abdulrahmon Olamide, Oyelaran Olayiwoola Jeremiah, Patrick Simon, Adefowora Omotayo David, Adediran Qudus Wale, Onipede Damilola Zacheaus, Ajayi Ifedolapo Oluwatofunmi, Oluwole Ayomide Oluwasegun, Usman Mubarak Oluwadamilare, Dapo-Ajayi Temitope Faith, Diyaolu Olamide Samuel, Ugbama Daniel Efemena, Ayoade Taofeek Adekunle.

“Others are: Egberongbe Adebayo Adedamola, Ajadi Ayinla Ibrahim, Ajeigbe Christian Toluwase, Alabi Daniel Oluwatosin, Olawooyin Taoheed Olakunle, Oguntuase Tope Francis, Salami Adam Akanfe, Olanrewaju Michael Damola, Kareem Afeez Alabi, Onuma Chidubem Williams, Rasaq Sodiq Olamilekan, Okusanwo Mayowa Daniel and Wahab Adebayo Abdullahi.

“Five exotic cars, mobile phones, laptops are among the items recovered from them. They will be charged to court as soon as investigations are concluded.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *